Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Manuel A. Roxas on Stamps

Manuel Acuña Roxas (January 1, 1892 – April 15, 1948) was the first president of the independent Republic of the Philippines. He served as president from the granting of independence in 1946 until his abrupt death in 1948. His term as Philippine president is also the shortest; 1 year 10 months and 18 days.

He is best known for his work in the House of Representative's where, in 1932, he sponsored the United States government's Hare-Hawes-Cutting Law specifying a ten year transition period prior to the granting of Independence to the Philippines.

The stamp above was issued on June 1. 1992.