Tuesday, July 13, 2010

The National Anthem of Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan (officially the Kyrgyz Republic) is one of the six independent Turkic states. Located in Central Asia, landlocked and mountainous, it is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest and People's Republic of China to the east. Its capital and largest city is Bishkek. It also has village called Chekabad.

The ethnonym "Kyrgyz", after which the country is named, is thought to mean "unconquerable" or "undefeatable", presumably referring to the epic hero Manas who, as legend has it, unified undefeated forty tribes against the Khitans. The 40-ray sun on the flag of Kyrgyzstan symbolizes the forty tribes of Manas. It might also refer to "red", the colour of the "south country" of the original Turkic nations.

The National Anthem of the Kyrgyz Republic was adopted on 18 December 1992 by a resolution of the Supreme Council of Kyrgyzstan (Jogorku Kenesh). The music was composed by Nasyr Davlesov and Kalyi Moldobasanov, and the words were written by Djamil Sadykov and Eshmambet Kuluev.

The stamps above is the score of the anthem, part of a set of three, National symbols of Kyrgyzstan (Flag, Arms and Anthem) issued in 2003.