Thursday, May 13, 2010

The National Anthem of Bonaire

The Island Territory of Bonaire is one of five island territories (Eilandgebieden) of the Netherlands Antilles, consisting of the main island of Bonaire and, nestled in its western crescent, the uninhabited islet of Klein Bonaire. Together with Aruba and Curaçao it forms a group referred to as the ABC islands of the Leeward Antilles, the southern island chain of the Lesser Antilles.

As part of the Netherlands Antilles, Bonaire is also a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. The structure of the relationship between Bonaire, the Netherlands Antilles and the Kingdom is planned for change under proposed legislation. The Netherlands Antilles is scheduled to be dissolved as a unified political entity on 10 October 2010, so that the five constituent islands would attain new constitutional statuses: Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius will become special municipalities of the Netherlands, while the islands of Curaçao and Sint Maarten will become independent states within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

An island of the Netherlands Antilles, itself a colony of the Netherlands, Bonaire, like every island in the Netherlands Antilles, have its own local anthem, including Bonaire. From 1964-2000, Bonaire's anthem served as the anthem for the entire Netherlands Antilles (without the lyrics) until a new anthem was written. The composer was J. B. A. Palm and lyrics by Hubert Obdulio "Lio" Booi.

The stamp above, a set of four, features the composer of the local anthem of Bonaire, J.B. Palm issued in 1989, Famous Persons Issue.