Friday, July 16, 2010

The Anthem of Mayotte

Mayotte, is an overseas collectivity of France consisting of a main island, Grande-Terre (or Mahoré), a smaller island, Petite-Terre (or Pamanzi), and several islets around these two.

Mayotte is very densely populated. It is in the northern Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean, between northern Madagascar and northern Mozambique. The territory is geographically part of the Comoro Islands, but has been politically separate since the 1970s. The territory is also known as Mahoré, the native name of its main island, especially by advocates of its inclusion in the Union of Comoros.

Mayotte is a department of France, next to the Comoros (as a vestige from when France owned the entire island group). Like all departments of France, whether within metropolitan France or overseas, "La Marseillaise" is used as the national anthem. (Unlike other nations with second-level administrative areas, French departments are less likely to adopt unofficial regional anthems.)