Friday, July 2, 2010

The Marshall Islands National Anthem

The Republic of the Marshall Islands is a Micronesian nation of atolls and islands in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, just west of the International Date Line and just north of the Equator. This nation of roughly 62,000 people is located north of Nauru and Kiribati, east of the Federated States of Micronesia, and south of the U.S. territory of Wake Island, to which it lays claim. In 1986 independence was attained under a Compact of Free Association with the United States.

The National anthem of Marshall Islands was written and composed by Amata Kabua (November 17, 1928 – 20 December 1996. He was the first President of the Marshall Islands from 1979 to 1996 (five consecutive terms). Kabua is the son of a Japanese businessman and a Marshallese mother, who was the daughter of a paramount chieftain. He was grew up on Ebadon Island on the Kwajalein atoll. He began his career as a school teacher before becoming chief of Majuro and Ratak Chain of the Marshall Islands, and later president of the Marshall Islands. He had been a principal participant in the negotiations to gain independence for the Marshall Islands. He died while president, but after a long illness, in Hawaii.

The stamp above featured Amata Kabua and three other Marshall Island personalities (Chester W. Nimitz, Traditional Iroij and Trygve H. Lie) on the 5th Anniversary of its Constitution (1979-1984)