Friday, July 3, 2009

The National Anthem of Angola

"Angola Avante" (Forward Angola), was composed by Rui Alberto Vieira Dias Mingao and written by Manuel Rui Alves Monteiro, and adopted as official national anthem in 1975.

During Portuguese rule, Angola had an unofficial local anthem, entitled "Angola é nossa" ("Angola is ours"), used by the Portuguese colonizers and European settlers in Angola, it was not performed after independence negotiations were started, and a different anthem, "Angola Avante" was adopted upon independence from Portugal.

There has been a commission appointed to study any possible changes needed in Angola's national symbols (there are references in the national anthem to important dates and events for the previous sole ruling party, made obsolete after multi-party elections were declared), thus the anthem may change in the near future.

The above stamp is a souvenir sheet containing the lyrics of the Angolan National Anthem issued 10 years after the anthem was adopted on November 11, 1985.