Tuesday, February 15, 2011

The UPAEP Symbols Series 2010- The Anthem Stamp Issuing Countries

Several countries issued a postage stamp based on the theme of National Symbols, the topic for last years (2010) UPAEP series. Most of the stamps issued depicts, flags, national emblems, plants, animals, etc. Some of the countries which issued their national anthem on stamps and these include Suriname, Brazil, Cuba, Uruguay, Paraguay and Ecuador.

The Postal Union of the Americas, Spain and Portugal (UPAEP), based in Montevideo, Uruguay, is an association of postal authorities of following countries: Netherlands Antilles, Argentina, Aruba, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, USA, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Dominican Republic, Surinam, Uruguay, Venezuela.

It was founded in 1911 as a restricted union of the Universal Postal Union. Since 1989, the UPAEP member countries are issuing sets of stamps based on a common theme, which always included the logo of the organization.

The Universal Postal Union (UPU, French: Union postale universelle) is an international organization that coordinates postal policies among member nations, in addition to the worldwide postal system. The UPU contains four bodies consisting of the Congress, the Council of Administration, the Postal Operations Council and the International Bureau. It also oversees two cooperatives including the Telematics and EMS Cooperatives respectively. Each member agrees to the same terms for conducting international postal duties. The UPU’s headquarters are located in Bern, Switzerland.

Shown above are the first day covers of anthem stamps from Brazil, Ecuador, Uruguay and Cuba issued in 2010